Skip to main content

Merge Duplicate Customers or Vendors in QuickBooks SDK

Duplicate customers or vendors can occur if the same name has been entered into QuickBooks slightly differently. Duplicates can be identified as more than one entry of the same name with the same ID number. If duplicate customers or duplicate vendors exist in QuickBooks, use this process to merge them. Before merging, review both entries to ensure they are indeed duplicates. Merging Customers or Vendors cannot be undone.

NOTE: Your QuickBooks must be set to Single User Mode to merge duplicates.

To merge duplicates:

  1. In QuickBooks Online, navigate to Sales > Customers.

  2. Double-click the name you don't want to keep.

  3. In the example below, let's merge the second Customer entry with the first, keeping only one instance of the Name ID.

  4. Edit the Customer Name field to match the original customer and click OK.

  5. Confirm your intention to merge names by clicking Yes on the following window.

  6. Click Yes on the second Merge warning that the duplicate address in the Ship To field will be lost after the merge.

  7. When complete, only one entry will remain in QuickBooks.

Customer & Job Merge

If the duplicate Customer has a Job assigned, first move the Job Name (typically the Case Number) to match the Customer that you want to merge into.

  1. In QuickBooks, double-click the Job from the Customer Center.

  2. On the Edit Job window, change the Customer field to the customer you wish you merge to and click OK.

  3. The Job has now been moved to the customer you wish to keep.

  4. Double-click the duplicate customer and follow steps 4-7 to complete the merge. When complete, there will only be one entry and the associated job underneath.

After the Customer has been merged properly in QuickBooks, return to the Integrator to unlink and then relink to the appropriate QuickBooks Full Name. Follow Removing a Name Link to sever the existing link between the Neos Party and QuickBooks Customer and, if applicable, the Neos Provider and QuickBooks Vendor. When removed, follow Linking Names to create a new link with the updated name from your QuickBooks.

Did this answer your question?