Skip to main content

Checklist Outlook Sync Statuses

This article outlines the different Outlook Sync statuses for Checklist tasks and describes how synced tasks are distinguished in the Checklist list view.

Enable Outlook Sync

If the Organizer for Checklist Outlook Sync is disabled in Firm Preferences > Default Info Tab, the Outlook Sync field will display a button to enable. When clicked, you'll be directed to the Default Info Tab. To make and save changes, ensure you have Modify Permissions to General > Firm Preferences.

Task not synced

When a task is not selected to sync, the Outlook Sync field will display unchecked. Click the checkbox to enable the sync for this task. Make sure the task has a Due Date set.

NOTE: When adding new Primary or Auxiliary Checklist tasks to the directory, the OFF state will be shown as below.

Will create synced event.

From the Primary or Auxiliary Checklist, when new tasks are created in the directory and the Outlook Sync checkbox is selected and saved, the pre-synced task will be automatically synced to Outlook when the Checklist task is added to a Case with a Due Date.

Event to be created. Missing task due date.

When the Due Date of a Checklist task is blank (e.g., Ref is set to MAN (manual) and Outlook Sync is selected, Neos cannot create the event in Outlook until a date (past, present, or future) is added.

When the Due Date is added (manually or through the REF date) to the pre-synced Checklist task, Neos will then create the Outlook event. Refer to Manually Sync Checklist Items to Outlook for details on the created event.

Task visible in Outlook

When a Checklist task is synced to Outlook, either automatically through the Primary or Auxiliary Checklist directory as a new item or manually from the Checklist Task Pane, an Outlook all-day event has been created.

When the Outlook Sync checkbox is turned OFF for a Checklist task in the Primary or Auxiliary Checklist, any new tasks that are added to the Case from that task will NOT automatically sync. Existing tasks in the Case that are already set to sync will not be changed.

Sync Outlook event will be cancelled upon save.

When a Checklist task is currently synced to Outlook (the all-day event has been created) and the Outlook Sync checkbox is deselected, the sync will be severed for this task when Save Changes is clicked on the Checklist Task Pane.

The Assigned and Collaborator(s) will receive a Canceled event notification in Outlook, where they can remove the event from their calendars. Any future updates to this Checklist item will not be sent to Outlook.

Outlook Sync has been disabled in firm preferences. Synced Outlook events will be cancelled upon save.

When a Checklist task is currently synced to Outlook (the all-day event has been created), the Outlook Sync is disabled in Firm Preferences, and the Outlook Sync checkbox is deselected, the sync will be severed for this task when Save Changes is clicked on the Checklist Task Pane.

The Assigned and Collaborator(s) will receive a Canceled event notification in Outlook, where they can remove the event from their calendars. Any future updates to this Checklist item will not be sent to Outlook.

When returning to the Checklist Task Pane, the Outlook Sync checkbox has been changed to the Enable Outlook Sync button. Refer to the first status in this article for more information.

Outlook Sync Column

Checklist tasks that have been synced to Outlook are distinguished by an

icon in the Sync column of the Case Checklist, Intake Checklist, Checklist Summary, and My Checklist. Click the Columns button to insert the Sync column into the Checklist grid.

Checklist items that are not synced to Outlook (Outlook Sync checkbox is disabled or Due Date is blank) will not display an icon in the Sync column.

Did this answer your question?