Skip to main content

Adding a Manual Time Tab Entry

Time entries can be added manually on the Time Tab within a Case Folder. Reports can be generated off time entries saved to the Time Tab.

NOTE: You must have Add permissions to the Time Tab in order to add time entries. You must have the proper permissions to the Report Library and Time (Time Tab) Reports to view these reports.

Time entries can also be added to the Value Tab. Review Adding a Manual Value Tab Time Entry for more details.

To add a Time entry to the Time Tab of a Case:

  1. Open the Case Folder of the desired Case where you wish to add time.

  2. Select the Time Tab.

  3. Click the + Add Time button from the list view to create a new Time entry.

  4. Complete the following fields:

  • Case – Display the first Party in the Case. This field cannot be changed.

  • Staff – Use the dropdown to select the desired staff. The signed-in Staff Code will display as the default.

  • Date/Time – The current date will be listed by default. You can click the date text field to enter a different date or click the calendar icon

    to select a date from the popup. Use the time fields to adjust the created time of the new entry.

  • Time Spent – Enter the time spent in the active case as hh mm ss. This may display as a decimal if the "Display Time Spent as Decimal" checkbox is selected in Firm Preferences > Time & Billing.

  • Description – The Description saved to the selected Task Code will display by default. Click into the field to add additional information about the work performed. Up to 5,000 characters can be entered.

  • Task Code – Select the Task from the dropdown. Tasks are defined in the Tasks Mini Directory and can be linked to specific Staff in Staff Profiles. The Task and UTBMS Code will display in the Task field. Task Code is now an optional field.

  • Activity Code – Select the Activity Code from the dropdown. Activities are defined in the Activity Codes Mini Directory. The Activity and UTBMS Code will display in the Activity Code field.

  • Billable – Select the checkbox if the entered time is to be billed to the client. The following five fields will become visible.

  • Rate – This field will automatically populate based on the order of the following scenarios.

    • If the Party for this Case is flagged as "Billing Client" and a Billing Rate is set, that rate will automatically display in the Rate field (see text under the Rate field above).

    • If the Party is NOT flagged as a Billing Client but a default hourly rate is associated with the selected Staff, their rate will automatically display in the Rate field.

    • If the selected Staff does NOT have a default hourly rate set, then the rate set in the selected Task Code will automatically display.

    • If none of the above are applicable, the Rate field will be blank by default.

  • Increment – Select the increment in which to round up the Time Spent for billing purposes. Use the dropdown to select one of the following increment options: Exact – 0 min, 0.1 – 6 min, 0.2 – 12 min, 0.25 – 15 min, 0.3 – 18 min, 0.4 – 24 min, 0.5 - 30 min, 0.6 – 36 min, 0.7 - 42 min, 0.8 – 48 min, 0.9 - 54 min, 1 – 60 min. When a time entry is marked Billable, the Increment field will be required. This field will automatically display the Default Time Increment configured in Firm Preferences > Time & Billing.

  • Bill To – The first Party marked Our Client will display by default. Enter a fragment of a name to search for a different name or Add New Provider. This is a required field to save the time entry.

  • Value Code – Select a Value Code (typically "TIME") to also save the time entry to the Value Tab. NOTE: If your firm has configured a Default Value Code in Firm Preferences > Time & Billing, the Value Code will be automatically filled in. When the billable Time entry is saved, a Value item will be created and linked to this Time entry, allowing any changes to be reflected in both the Time entry and the Value item. NOTE: Deleting the Time entry will also delete the linked Value entry.

  • Bill Date – Enter the date for when the time entry should be billed to the client.

The bottom section will calculate billable time based on the Total Time Spent | Billable Time (calculated using Time Spent and Increment) | Amount (calculated using Rate and Billable Time). [screenshot]

NOTE: The Billable Time will be linked to the Time Spent field by default. NOTE: A new Firm Preference is available to disconnect the link between Time Spent and Billable Time fields. When disabled, changes to this field on a saved item will no longer sync.

5. Click the Save button to save the time entry to the Time Tab.

If the Billable checkbox is deselected on a saved Time entry, the following message will display. Click the Delete button to change the time entry to unbillable AND delete the linked Value entry. Click the Cancel button to abort the change.

Did this answer your question?