Skip to main content

Assigning Calls

When inbound or outbound answered calls are imported, populated, reflected, or added through the RingCentral or Zoom Phone Integration, the system will try to match the contact based on their phone number, case, and staff in Neos.

Contact your Customer Success Manager or [email protected] to request this paid integration.

NOTE: You must have Modify permissions to General > Communications Center to assign the Contact, Case, or Purpose of a Call Log.

When RingCentral or Zoom answered calls are imported to Neos:

  • If the phone number is only associated with one contact, Neos will automatically assign the Contact, and

    • If the contact is a Party in one Case or one Intake, Neos will automatically assign the Case/Intake to that Contact.

  • Then, Neos will automatically create a Case/Intake Note with the date and time of the import.

    • For imported RingCentral calls, a Case/Intake Note will not be automatically created when Staff is not assigned.

      • If the phone number matches a single Staff, Neos will automatically assign the Staff member to that call log. Reference the RingCentral Integration for setup configuration.

NOTE: A Contact or Provider listed as a Party in a Case can be associated when assigning a phone call. In other words, Contacts or Providers that are NOT also a Party in a Case cannot be assigned to a phone call.

Staff will receive a single notification in Neos with the number of phone calls that were automatically matched to them. The Staff used to activate the RingCentral or Zoom Phone integration will receive a notification in Neos with the number of unassigned phone calls.

If the automatically matched Staff is the same as the integrations Staff, that Staff will receive only one notification in Neos with the total number of phone calls assigned to them and the number of unassigned phone calls. To avoid a user from receiving notifications for unassigned calls, consider using a separate integration user.

Communications can be assigned individually or in bulk. When assigning calls in bulk, you can choose to Assign Mine (all calls where you are the Staff) or Assign All (calls assigned to all Staff).

NOTE: When at least one unassigned phone call is assigned to the current staff, clicking the Assign Mine button will load the Assign Call window with up to 50 unassigned phone calls assigned to the current staff. However, if there is at least one unassigned phone call but none are assigned to the current staff, the Assign Mine button will be hidden.

You may use the checkboxes to select particular calls you wish to assign. When one or more calls are selected, options for Assign, Edit, and Delete will display above the grid. Refer to Editing Phone Calls for information on updating call logs in bulk. Refer to Deleting Calls for information on deleting call logs.

When the Assign, Assign Mine, or Assign All button is clicked, an Assign Call window will display. Inbound calls will be shaded in the inbound call color and outbound calls will be shaded in the outbound call color. The example below is showing an inbound call.

Similar to the preview pane, the caller's phone number is displayed, along with the time spent on the call, full date and time the call was initiated, and the Staff assigned to this call log.

NOTE: Neos will try to match the Full Name of the Staff member that initiated or received the call, if their phone number exists in their Staff Profile. If it cannot be matched, the Staff field will be blank, in which case, the call log can be manually changed.

  • Contact – Search for the caller's name and click the Select button to have it display here.

NOTE: If the phone number is NOT already associated with the selected Contact, use the prompt to add the number to the name. When Add is clicked, the number will be saved to the Phones section of the Party Tab for the selected Contact with a Type of "Other".

  • Case – Only Cases where the selected Contact is a Party will display. If no cases are shown in the dropdown, then the Contact is not a Party in any Case. When a Case is selected, the Log Time option will display on the bottom right, below the Notes field.

  • Purpose – Select the appropriate call reason, as defined in the Purpose Mini Directory.

  • Notes – Enter any additional notes about this call.

  • Log Time – When a Case is assigned and Time Tracking [link to Firm Preferences > Time & Billing Tab] is enabled for your firm, for the Case Type of the selected Case, and for the logged in Staff, the Log Time option will display on the bottom left of the Assign Call window.

    Once clicked, the icon will change to show that a time entry will be created on Save.

NOTE: The Call Log must have a Staff assigned, otherwise, you will receive the following warning message on Save.

Selections on the Assign Call window will be applied (e.g., assigned Contact, Case, Purpose, Case Note created [link to Assign Case to Call Log], etc.), however, the Time entry will NOT be created in that Case when the Staff is NOT assigned.

Staff can be assigned manually to a Call Log by clicking the View/Edit button on the preview pane or using the kebab menu.

You can also manually log time and link the selected Staff to a Call Log during the same process using the Save Time Entry window. Refer to Creating Time Entries from Call Logs for details.

Calls can be deleted from the Communications Center with the proper permissions. Refer to Deleting Calls for more details.

If one or more calls have been selected using the checkboxes, the following progress tracker will display above the heading.

Once changes have been made and Save & Next (multiple) or Save & Finish (single) is clicked, the tracker will show the completed # / total # of assigned calls.

Click the Save button to save changes. A notification will display, and you will be returned to the Communications Center list view. When one or more calls have been assigned, a new note entry will be automatically created on the Notes Tab of the Case or Intake for each assigned Call Log. Refer to Linking Call Logs to a Case for more details.

The Cancel button will discard any unsaved changes. If the Cancel button is clicked when assigning multiple call logs, completed changes (from Save & Next) will not be affected.

Did this answer your question?