Notes can be flagged as Important to help your team quickly identify and access information that matters most – so critical updates, decisions, or follow-ups are never buried or overlooked. When a note is marked Important, it is visually highlighted and marked with red exclamation icon. Important notes can also be pinned to the top of the Notes Tab list view, which is a global setting in Firm Preferences > Default Info. All Note types, except Text Messages, can be marked Important.
NOTE: You must have Modify permissions to Case > Notes Tab to mark a note as Important.
Marking Notes as Important
Users with permission to edit notes can mark notes as important from several locations.
Mark a Single Note as Important
You'll find Mark as Important in the 3dot menu:
Mark Multiple Notes in Bulk
Select multiple notes using the checkboxes. Click the Bulk Actions menu above the grid and select Mark as Important.
What Happens When a Note Is Marked Important?
When single or multiple notes are marked Important, each selected note is highlighted red and displays a red exclamation icon.
If your firm has the Visibility Settings for pinning turned on, the note is pinned to the top of the Notes list. Newly pinned notes will appear below existing pinned notes.
The action of marking notes as Important is recorded in the Activity Feed for the Case/Intake.
Sorting and Filtering Important Notes
Important notes still behave like standard notes when working with filters or sorting.
Sorting
Pinned notes always appear first
Sorting is applied only after pinned notes
Filtering
If a pinned note doesn't match any used filter, it will be filtered out
Viewing Important Notes in Advanced Search Results
When creating a Search for Notes, "Important" is available as a filter option and a column in the results grid. Refer to Advanced Search Filter Options – I-Q for more information.
Unmarking an Important Note
If a note is already marked as Important, Staff with Modify permissions to Case > Notes Tab will see Unmark as Important in the same locations where the note was marked.
When a note is unmarked:
The ! icon is removed
The note returns to its original position in the list
The change appears in the Activity Feed
Additional Details to Know
Important and pinned notes are visible across all staff
Important status stays with the note if it's moved or copied to another case
Pinned notes remain pinned when navigating between note type tabs
Notes retain normal behavior when filters or permissions apply










