If you mistakenly create a Case or duplicate a Case in Neos, you can recycle the Case Folder to clean up your data. The recycling process will remove all existing Parties and add a "Recycle" Party prior to closing the Case.
NOTE: You must have Add and Delete permissions for Case > Party Tab, Add permission for Directories > Mini Directories, Modify permission for Case > Case Tab, and Add and/or Modify permission to Provider > Provider Tab (optional).
The following steps should be performed before recycling a Case.
Click the Settings icon of the left navigation pane and select the Mini Directories button.
Select the Party Role Mini Directory and Add a role called "Recycle".
NOTE: Role name could also be "Recycled" or "Recycle Bin", based on your firm's preference.
While it is not required to set the Role (when added as a Party) on the Provider Card, it is wise to add "Recycle" to the Provider Role Mini Directory as well, should you need to set the Provider's Role at a later time.
To recycle a Case:
Open the Case that you wish to recycle. Because the last Party in a Case cannot be deleted, you must first add the "Recycle" Party to the Case.
Navigate to the Party Tab and click the X to close the current Party detail view. Click the + Add Party button in the list view.
The first time you recycle a Case, you will need to click the New Party button on the Select a Contact window. When recycling future cases, simply Search for "Recycle" and click the Make Selection button to insert the name as a Party.
When adding a new "Recycle" Party, select either Person or Company. Enter "Recycle" as their Last name (Person) or Full Name (Company). Then select "Recycle" as their Party Role and click Save.
The Case will now have the new Party of "Recycle" added to the list of Parties.
Next, remove the other Parties from the Case. Refer to Deleting a Party for more details.
NOTE: It is best to keep the removed Parties as names in your Names database, should they exist in other areas of Neos or need to be used in the future.
When all other Parties have been removed, the "Recycle" Party will become the first Party in the Case.
Lastly, select the Case Tab and specify a Closed date to mark the Case "Closed".
Reports, such as Case Listing by Party Name can be used to locate the "Recycle" Party Role and the Case Status of "Closed Cases" to find all recycled Cases.
Advanced Search queries can also be created for Cases using the following criteria: Parties > Role > Select Role Equal Recycle And Is Closed Equal True.









