Skip to main content

Approving Time Entries

When a billable Time entry is submitted, staff with the Time and Value Approval Special Permission can approve entries. Approved entries will be locked from editing by all other staff who do not have this permission and Modify Locked Value Entries.

NOTE: Staff must also have Modify permissions to Case > Time Tab or Case > Value Tab.

The Approve button will display on the Time list view when one or more entries are selected. The Approve button will be enabled if all selected entries have a status of Submitted. If any of the selected entries are NOT in a Submitted status, this button will be disabled. The Approve button also displays on the detail view of a Time entry.

To approve submitted Time entries:

  1. On the Time Tab, select the desired submitted entries.

  2. Above the grid, select the Approve button.

  3. Confirm your intention on the Approve Entry window.

  • Click the Approve button to complete the action and change the entries to "Approved".

  • Click the Cancel button to abort the approval and keep the entries in Submitted status.

4. A confirmation banner will display when Approve is clicked and the grid or details page will refresh showing the updated status. Because Time and Value entries are linked, submitted entries that are approved in the Time Tab will also be approved in the Value Tab and vice versa. All changes to entry approval will be accessible in the Activity Feed.

Approved Time entries will be locked for all users without the Time and Value Approval Special Permission. However, if the user has the Modify Locked Value Entries Special Permission, edits can be made. All fields will be grayed out to prevent any unintentional changes and a warning banner will be displayed at the top of the entry.

Once Approved, entries cannot be moved to other cases or edited.

While Time entries in any status can be copied to other cases, the other cases will not retain the current entry status, besides for Draft or N/A.

NOTE: Without the Modify Locked Value Entries Special Permission, modifications cannot be made to Time entries when the Approved Time/Value entry has been invoiced (not in a status of "Due", "Overdue", or "Paid"). All fields will be grayed out and locked for all users without this special permission.

To make changes, the Invoice will need to be Voided. The Time item status will remain as "Submitted" and show as "Not Invoiced". Once voided, the entry can now be edited, with the Time and Value Approval Special Permission.

With the Modify Locked Value Entries Special Permission, invoiced Time Value entries can now be edited.

Did this answer your question?